Stefan Güttel awarded the 2021 SIAM James H. Wilkinson Prize

Dr Stefan Güttel will receive the 2021 James H. Wilkinson Prize in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing. This prestigious prize, established in 1979, is awarded every four years by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). SIAM is the world’s largest professional association devoted to applied mathematics with over 14,000 individual members.
Dr Güttel’s research is in computational mathematics, and in particular, in efficient numerical algorithms for high-dimensional problems. The prize recognizes his contributions to the analysis, implementation, and application of rational and block Krylov methods. These methods have recently become very popular for the efficient solution of large eigenvalue problems, matrix equations, and in model order reduction.
Dr Güttel’s work is applicable to a wide range of problems in science and engineering. He maintains active collaborations with other Departments and companies such as Arup, Autotrader, AspenTech, N Brown Group, and Schlumberger-Doll Research. He also holds a fellowship with the Alan Turing Institute, the UK’s national institute for data science and artificial intelligence.
Dr Güttel will deliver a prize lecture at the 2021 SIAM Conference on Computational Science and Engineering (CSE21), to be held on a virtual platform in March 2021.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s