Meetings

Group meetings are on Wednesday at 11am in Frank Adams 1. If you would like to give a presentation please contact Stephanie Lai.

Wednesday March 19

Mawussi Zounon will give a talk about PLASMA and the NAG Library.

Forthcoming Meetings

Wednesday March 27

Xiaobo Liu – TBA

Wednesday April 3

Michael Connolly – TBA

Past Meetings

Wednesday March 13

Xuelei Lin from Hong Kong Baptist University
Title: Crank-Nicolson ADI method for space-fractional diffusion equations with non-separable coefficients
Abstract: Alternating direction implicit (ADI) scheme is a popular and efficient solver for linear systems arising from discretization of high-dimension fractional PDEs. However, ADI schemes developed in previous works requires strong assumptions, such as separable coefficients, or even constant coefficients. In this talk, I will introduce our newly developed theory for Crank-Nicolson ADI, which does not require separable-coefficients assumptions. Also, an optimal preconditioning technique is applied to the one-dimensional problems arising from ADI scheme, for which the condition number of the preconditioned matrices are proven to be independent of discretization step-sizes.

Wednesday March 6

Chris Armstrong from Arm
Title: Arm Performance Libraries FFT development
Abstract: In this talk I will give a quick overview of Arm Performance Libraries before describing the work we have undertaken to improve the performance of our Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) functions. I will outline the algorithms we use and our results to date.

Wednesday February 27

No Meeting

Wednesday February 20

Practise talks by Pierre Blanchard and Steven Elsworth

Wednesday February 13

No Meeting

Wednesday February 6

No Meeting

Wednesday January 30

Pierre Blanchard on “Yet Another Fast And Accurate Summation Algorithm”.

Wednesday January 23

Sven Hammarling on “Machines for the Solution of Linear Equations”. NotesSlides and References.

Tuesday December 11

Massimiliano Fasi on “Efficient and Accurate evaluation of polynomials of matrices”. Notes and Slides.

Tuesday December 4

Theo Mary on “A New Approach to Rounding Error Analysis”. Paper and Slides.

Tuesday November 27

No meeting.

Tuesday November 20

Lijing Lin on “Phenotyping immune responses in asthma and respiratory infections using clustering techniques”.  An abstract for the talk is available here.

Tuesday November 13

Srikara Pranesh on “Squeezing a Matrix Into Half Precision, with an Application to Solving Linear Systems”.

Tuesday November 6

Elisa Riccietti on “High-order multilevel optimization strategies and their application to the training of artificial neural networks”. Abstract for the talk is available here.

Tuesday October 30

Gain Maria Negri Porzio on “The contour integral approach for the nonlinear eigenvalue problem”.

Tuesday October 23

Nick Higham on “The adjugate matrix”. From the meeting: Notes.

Tuesday October 16

Tom McSweeney on ”Task scheduling in high-performance computing”. From the meeting: Slides, Notes.

Tuesday October 9

Nick Higham on ”Optimizing the Wilson Matrix”. From the meeting: Notes.

Here is the group photo from the meeting (hires version).DSC00120.ARW

Tuesday October 2

Pierre Blanchard on ”Optimized Polar Decomposition for Modern Computer Architectures”. From the meeting: Slides, Notes.

Tuesday September 25

Introductions, new website, and plans for the academic year, including conferences. From the meeting: Notes.